Skip to main content

SPS Faculties

SPS Faculties

Number of Faculty: 33
Brijesh Kumar
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
bkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in , bkumar@jnu.ac.in
Debashis Ghoshal
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
dghoshal@mail.jnu.ac.in
Kedar Singh
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
kedar@mail.jnu.ac.in , kedarbhp@rediffmail.com
Manish Kumar
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
mkkashyap@mail.jnu.ac.in
Ram Sagar
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
ram.sagar@mail.jnu.ac.in, ramsagar1.jnu@gmail.com
Riddhi Shah
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
rshah@mail.jnu.ac.in , rshah@jnu.ac.in
S. Patnaik
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
spatnaik@mail.jnu.ac.in , spatnaikjnu@gmail.com
S.S.N. Murthy
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
ssnm0700@mail.jnu.ac.in
Sanjay Puri
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
puri@mail.jnu.ac.in , purijnu@gmail.com
Shankar P. Das
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
shankar@jnu.ac.in spd@uchicago.edu
Subhasis Ghosh
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
subhasis@mail.jnu.ac.in
Subir Kumar Sarkar
Professor
School of Physical Sciences
ssarkar@mail.jnu.ac.in
Ram Prasad Prajapati
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
rpprajapati@mail.jnu.ac.in, prajapati.iter@gmail.com
Amit Rai
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
amitrai@mail.jnu.ac.in, amitrai007@gmail.com
Pawan Kumar Kulriya
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
pkkulriya@mail.jnu.ac.in, pawaniuac@gmail.com
Pritam Mukhopadhyay
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
m_pritam@mail.jnu.ac.in
Sobhan Sen
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
sens@mail.jnu.ac.in , sobhan.sen@gmail.com
Vijay Kumar Goel
Associate Professor
School of Physical Sciences
vijaykgoel@mail.jnu.ac.in , vijaykgoel@jnu.ac.in
Alok Kumar Singh Jha
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
alokksjha@mail.jnu.ac.in
Amala Bhave
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
abhave@mail.jnu.ac.in
Ankita Rai
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
ankitarai@mail.jnu.ac.in , ankitagalaxy@gmail.com
Ashim Kr. Pramanik
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
akpramanik@mail.jnu.ac.in, ashpramanik@gmail.com
Dinabandhu Das
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
dinabandhu@mail.jnu.ac.in jnu.dinu@gmail.com
Krishnandu Makhal
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
kmakhal@mail.jnu.ac.in
Manoj Munde
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
mmunde@mail.jnu.ac.in , mundemanoj@gmail.com
Manoj Verma
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
manojverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, m.infinite@gmail.com
Pijus Kumar Sasmal
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
pijus@mail.jnu.ac.in pijussasmal@gmail.com
Poonam Mehta
Assistant Professor (UGC)
School of Physical Sciences
pm@mail.jnu.ac.in, pm@jnu.ac.in
Rabindra Nath Mahato
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
rnmahato@jnu.ac.in , rabindraiitm@gmail.com
Shilpi Agarwal
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
shilpiagarwal@mail.jnu.ac.in
Supriya Sabbani
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
ssabbani@mail.jnu.ac.in , sabbani07@gmail.com
Tanuja Mohanty
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
tmohanty@mail.jnu.ac.in , tanujajnu@gmail.com
Ved Prakash Gupta
Assistant Professor
School of Physical Sciences
vedgupta AT mail.jnu.ac.in, ved.math AT gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.