Skip to main content

SLS Faculties

SLS Faculties

Number of Faculty: 28
Ajay Kumar Saxena
Professor
School of Life Sciences
ajaysaxena@mail.jnu.ac.in
Alok Kumar Mondal
Professor
School of Life Sciences
akmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in alok.imt@gmail.com
Ananda Kumar Sarkar
Professor
School of Life Sciences
anandaksarkar@mail.jnu.ac.in, aksarkar.jnu@gmail.com
Arun Sidram Kharat
Professor
School of Life Sciences
arunkharat2007@gmail.com, askharat@mail.jnu.ac.in
Ashis K Nandi
Professor
School of Life Sciences
ashis_nandi@mail.jnu.ac.in ashis_nandi@yahoo.com
Ashwani Pareek
Professor
School of Life Sciences
ashwanip@mail.jnu.ac.in
Atul Kumar Johri
Professor
School of Life Sciences
ajohri@mail.jnu.ac.in akjohri14@yahoo.com
B.N.Mallick
Professor
School of Life Sciences
bnm@mail.jnu.ac.in remsbnm@yahoo.com
Deepak Sharma
Professor
School of Life Sciences
sharmadeepak@mail.jnu.ac.in , deepak57in@yahoo.co.in
K. Natarajan
Professor
School of Life Sciences
nat0200@mail.jnu.ac.in
P.C. Rath
Professor
School of Life Sciences
pcrath@mail.jnu.ac.in pramod.rath@gmail.com
Praveen K Verma
Professor
School of Life Sciences
praveenkverma@mail.jnu.ac.in, praveenkverma@jnu.ac.in, pkv.jnu@gmail.com
Rana P. Singh
Professor
School of Life Sciences
rana_singh@mail.jnu.ac.in & ranaps@hotmail.com
S. Chakraborty
Professor
School of Life Sciences
schakraborty@mail.jnu.ac.in , supriyachakrasls@yahoo.com
Samudrala Gourinath
Professor
School of Life Sciences
sgourinath@mail.jnu.ac.in
Shweta Saran
Professor
School of Life Sciences
ssaran@mail.jnu.ac.in shweta_saran@hotmail.com
Sneha Sudha Komath
Professor
School of Life Sciences
sskomath@mail.jnu.ac.in
Amal Chandra Mondal
Associate Professor
School of Life Sciences
acmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in , amal_mondal@rediffmail.com
Neelima Mondal
Associate Professor
School of Life Sciences
nmondal@mail.jnu.ac.in , nmondal@hotmail.com
Rohini Muthuswami
Associate Professor
School of Life Sciences
rohini_m@mail.jnu.ac.in
Sushil K Jha
Associate Professor
School of Life Sciences
sushilkjha@mail.jnu.ac.in
Abhisheka Bansal
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
abhisheka@mail.jnu.ac.in, bansal.abhisheka@gmail.com
Ashu Bhan Tiku
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
abtiku@mail.jnu.ac.in
Karunakar Kar
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
kkar@mail.jnu.ac.in karunakarkar@gmail.com
Nirala Ramchiary
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
nramchiary@mail.jnu.ac.in nrudsc@gmail.com
Niti Puri
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
purin@mail.jnu.ac.in niti_puri@hotmail.com
Sneh Lata Panwar
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
sneh@mail.jnu.ac.in , sneh10@hotmail.com
Vikas Yadav
Assistant Professor
School of Life Sciences
vikasyadav@mail.jnu.ac.in; vikasjnu@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.