Skip to main content



The Centre for the Study of Discrimination and Exclusion (CSDE) is a unique institutional space created within the School of Social Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University to study the structures and processes of exclusion and discrimination. Social exclusion is a multidimensional process that detaches individuals and groups from social relations and institutions and makes it impossible for them to participate in various aspects of economic, social and political life. The focus of this centre is to enable further research on present and future sites of discrimination and exclusion that adversely affect social groups like dalits, tribals, and religious minorities.

Origin and Development

In 2002, Prof. Prabhat Patnaik, then the Dean, School of Social Sciences, mooted the idea of a programme to study discrimination and exclusion and a committee with Professor Romila Thapar (Chair) and Professors S. K. Thorat, T.K. Oommen, Ghanshyam Shah, Abhijit Sen, and Zoya Hasan (convenor) recommended the introduction of a programme with focus on discrimination and exclusion on the basis of caste, tribe, and religion. It was widely recognized that the primary space where exclusion can be studied and transcended is the universities which can and must conduct further research on this issue as it has theoretical and policy implications. Moreover, the center would be able to bring together the comparative and multi-interdisciplinary framework necessary for a teaching and research programme that would study discrimination and exclusion given its diverse structural roots and varied forms and manifestations in different social and economic spheres.

The Programme for the Study of Discrimination and Exclusion (PSDE) was established in 2005 to document and analyse discrimination and exclusion in Indian society. The PSDE was notified as the Centre for the Study of Discrimination and Exclusion (CSDE) in April, 2012. During the last several years, the CSDE (formerly PSDE) has expanded its institutional base and resources by taking advantage of the UGC Scheme for the establishment of Centres for Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy (CSSEIP).


The following have been Honorary Directors of CSDE:

Professor Zoya Hasan, Centre for Political Studies (2005-06); Professor P. M. Kulkarni, Centre for the Study of Regional Development (2006-08); Professor Pralay Kanungo, Centre for Political Studies ( 2008-10); Professor Geetha B. Nambissan, Zakir Husain Centre for Educational Studies (2010-12); Professor Vidhu Verma, Centre for Political Studies (2012-2013); Professor Surinder Singh Jodhka, Centre for the Study of Social Systems (2013-2014).


• To conceptualise discrimination and exclusion based on caste, tribe and religion.
• To offer academic programmes that focus on discrimination and exclusion of the scheduled castes, scheduled tribes and minorities in Indian society.
• To engage in detailed and critical analysis of socio-economic data generated by government agencies and to study policies and programmes for inclusion.
• To document, collate and generate information and facts on the experiences and outcomes of discrimination and conditions and processes of exclusion of members of these groups.
• To have community outreach and networking with research institutions, universities and NGOs.
• To organise seminars, lectures and workshops.

Thrust areas
It is widely acknowledged that discrimination occurs in public institutions, legal systems, universities and health services, as well as social institutions like the household. For these reasons the thrust of the research done is on how discrimination and social exclusion keep individuals and marginalised social groups outside power centres. More specifically, the research interest of the Centre is on the study of Scheduled Castes, Scheduled Tribes and Minorities, keeping in mind intersectionalities such as class, gender, region and so on. 


The following Direct Ph.D courses and M.A. level optional courses (4 credits each) are being offered this semester (Monsoon Semester 2024) from our Centre.


M.A Optional Courses
DE404:   Religious Minorities and Social Exclusion - Dr. Rosina Nasir


Direct Ph.D Courses

DE607:  State, Social Protection Policies and the Marginalised - Prof. Y.Chinna Rao

DE615: Research and Publication Ethics - Dr. V. Shirisha



A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.