Skip to main content



Online Student Registration

Online Registration (This registration is only for purposes of the Centre records. Students should complete University registration before they fill in this form. Registration to this site should be done every Monsoon Semester for new and continuing students. New students who register in the Winter Semester are also requested to fill in this form).

a. Name
b. Programme of Study
c. Stream
d. Research Area (MPhil and PhD students)
e. Year of Registration
f. Email ID
g. Local Address
h. Permanent Address
i. Tel/Mobile No.

Students can apply for these Scholarships. Dates for application will normally be put up on the Notice Board.

(This list is likely to change and last dates for each fellowship may vary. Please also consult the JNU website for further information)

1. Scholarships from the Graduate Institute, Geneva (for Anthropology and Development, Politics, International Economics, History and Politics)

2. SYLFF funded by the Tokyo Nippon Foundation, Japan (two fellowships of Rs 17,000 per month for three years)

3. Nurul Hasan Scholarship, for the second year of MA/MSC/MCA (one scholarship of Rs 1500 per month is reserved for the Social Sciences and is based on performance and need)

4. Comrade HL Parwana Research Stipend of Rs 5,000 per month for MPhil (for Economy, Banking, Trade Unions and other matters) from August to July every year and rotates between SSS and SIS

5. Fox International Fellowship at the Yale Centre for International and Area Studies for the duration of nine months (2 fellowships)

6. Visiting the UK under the MOU between JNU and King's College for the duration of three months

7. Visiting Germany under the MOU between JNU and the University of Gottingen for the duration of one year

Gender Sensitisation Committee against Sexual Harassment (GSCASH)

The Centre is committed to ensuring an environment that is free from sexual harassment. While intense interaction amongst students, and between students and faculty is part of the vibrant world of the Centre, faculty, students, and administrative staff are sensitized to the need to ensure that such interaction takes place in situations where everyone feels safe and secure. Institutionally, at the level of the university, the Gender Sensitization Committee Against Sexual Harassment (GSCASH) offers support to prevent, investigate, and if necessary recommend punitive action against perpetrators of sexual harassment. Several students and faculty members from the Centre have served on the Committee and support its activities and programmes in a variety of ways.

Student Faculty Committee (SFC)

The Student Faculty Committee consists of the Chair as well as the three unit coordinators, and five students who are elected, two from the MA programme and three from the MPhil/PhD programme. The Committee is a forum for students to clarify and resolve any academic issues that arise in the course of the MA and MPhil PhD programmes. Elections to the Committee are held according to the University Schedule, usually around October each year.

English as an Additional Language (EAL)

Since its inception, the Centre has attracted students from diverse socio-cultural backgrounds, with a range of linguistic skills. The University supports students from different backgrounds through the Equal Opportunities Cell, and the Centre for English, School of Languages and Cultural Studies, offers opportunities for acquiring skills in reading, writing, and speaking English. Additionally, the Centre for Historical Studies provides support through the English as an Additional Language Programme, run with the help of faculty and student volunteers. This programme includes regular meetings and discussions, where students are encouraged to express themselves verbally and in writing, and where concepts and readings are discussed. There are occasional lectures and provisions for mentoring and other modes of support.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.