Skip to main content

CRS Faculties

CRS Faculties

Number of Faculty: 16
Meeta Narain
Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
mnarain@mail.jnu.ac.in , meetanarain@hotmail.com
N.S. Roomi
Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
nsroomi@mail.jnu.ac.in , nasarshakeel@gmail.com
Ranjana Banerjee
Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
ranjanab@mail.jnu.ac.in , ranjanab1992@gmail.com
Arunim Bandyopadhyay
Associate Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
arunim@mail.jnu.ac.in , arunbandyo@yahoo.co.in
Kiran Singh Verma
Associate Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
ksverma@mail.jnu.ac.in , kiransingh1@yandex.ru
Nagendra Shreeniwas
Associate Professor
Centre of Russian Studies
nshreeniwas@mail.jnu.ac.in ; nshreeniwas@jnu.ac.in
Richa Sawant
Associate Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
richa_sawant@mail.jnu.ac.in , richasawant07@gmail.com
Ajoy Kumar Karnati
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
akkarnati@mail.jnu.ac.in , ajoy.karnati@gmail.com
Ashutosh Anand
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
aanand@mail.jnu.ac.in , ashu.jnu@gmail.com
Manuradha Chaudhary
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
manuradha@mail.jnu.ac.in , manuradharaj@gmail.com
Meenu Bhatnagar
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
meenub@mail.jnu.ac.in , meenu_bhatnagar@hotmail.com
Radha Mohan Meena
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
radhamohan@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mohan1385@gmail.com
Sandeep Kumar Pandey
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
sandeepkpandey@mail.jnu.ac.in
Sonu Saini
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
sonusaini@jnu.ac.in | sonusaini@mail.jnu.ac.in
Vinay Kumar Ambedkar
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
vkambedkar@mail.jnu.ac.in , vinay.ambedkar@gmail.com
Yogesh Kumar Rai
Assistant Professor
Centre of Russian Studies,
yogeshkrai@mail.jnu.ac.in

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.