Skip to main content

SCMM Visitors

SCMM Visitors



  1. Dr. Pradeep Parrack, Department o Biochemistry, Bose Institute, Kolkata
  2. Prof. M.A. Akbarsha, Bharthidasan University, Tirichirapalli, Tamilnadu
  3. Dr. Dipak Das, Cardiovascular Research Center, Univ. of Connecticut, School of Medicine, Fermington, USA
  4. Dr. Vijay Kumar Tiwari, John Hopkins University, School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA.
  5. Dr. Kumaravel Somasundaram, Dept. of Microbiology and Cell Biology, Institute of Science, Bangalore.
  6. Dr. Sidhartha Sankar Jana, NIH, Bethesda, USA.
  7. Dr. Aurnab Ghose, Department of Cell Biology, Harward Medical School, USA.
  8. Dr. Mayurika Lahiri, Department of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
  9. Dr. Srimoyee Ghosh, Department of Cancer Genetics, Roswell Park Cancer Institute, USA
  10. Dr. Rajesh Mishra, University of Dortmund, Germany
  11. Dr. Jyoti Das, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
  12. Dr. Sudip Sen, AIIMS, New Delhi.
  13. Prof. Suresh Rattan, Department of Microbiology, University of Aarhus, Denmark
  14. Dr. Sanjeev Kumar, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH, USA
  15. Dr. Arnab Mukhopadhyay, University of Massachusetts Medical School, USA.
  16. Dr. Tim-Wolf Gilberger, Bernhard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine, Germany (Co-sponsored by INSA Local Chapter)
  17. Dr. Partha Mukhopadhyay, NIH, USA.
  18. Prof. Ramesh C. Bhalla, Dept. of Anatomy and Cell Biology, University of Iowa, USA.
  19. Dr. Suman Verma, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Univ. of California, USA.




  1. A group of Science Faculty members and students lead by Prof. William George fromBiological Science Dept. Forman Christian College, Lahore (Pakistan).
  2. Dr. Partho Sarothi Ray, Lerner Research Institute, Cleaveland Clinic, USA.
  3. Prof. Lars Baltzer, Biomedical Centre, Upsala University, Sweden.
  4. Prof. Leif A. Kirsebom, Institute of Cell and Molecular Biology, Upsala University, Sweden.
  5. Prof. Gordon Lansley, Institut Cochin, INSERM, France.
  6. Prof. John E. Baker, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, College of Wisconsin, USA
  7. Dr. Sumeena Bhatia, National Cancer Institute, NIH, USA
  8. Dr. Poonam Taneja, ArcturusXTTM Microdissection System, USA.
  9. Dr. Santanu Dasgupta and Leif Kirsebom from Uppsala University, Sweden.




  • Dr. Neerja Karnani, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics University of Virginia School of Medicine, USA.
  • Dr. Sudhakar Jha, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia School of Medicine, USA.
  • Dr. Manidipa Banerjee from Dept. of Molecular Biology, Scripps Research Institute, USA.
  • Prof. Manzoor A. Bhat from Dept. of Cell & Molecular Physiology, Univ. of North Carolina School of Medicine, USA.
  • Prof. Bandana Chatterjee from Dept. of Molecular Medicine, Univ. of Taxes Health Science Centre, USA.
  • Dr. Nandkumar Khaire from School of Biotechnology, Vidya Pratishthan
  • Prof. Adhip P.N. Majumdar from VA Medical, Wayne State Univ., USA.




  • Dr. Partha Ray, John Wayne Cancer Institute, USA.
  • Dr. Ramanathan Natesh from School of Biological Sciences, University of London, UK.
  • Dr. Sourav Banerjee, Neuroscience Research Institute, Univ. of California, USA.
  • Prof. Chandan Sen, Dept. of Surgery and Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry, USA.
  • Dr. Kaustuv Datta from Dept. of Genetics, South Campus, Delhi University, New Delhi
  • Dr. Sougata Saha, Cell Biology and Biochemistry, School of Veterinary Medicine, Univ. of Pennsylvania, USA




  1. Dr. C.V. Srikanth, Dept. of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Univ. of Massachusetts Medical School, USA.
  2. Dr. Anirban Banerjee, San Diego State Univ. California, USA.
  3. Dr. Sutapa Chakrabarti, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Germany.
  4. Dr. Aniruddha Sengupta, Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center Georgetown University, Washington, DC, USA.
  5. Dr. Amit Dutt, ACTREC, Tata Memorial Cancer Centre navi Mumbai.




  1. Dr. Durba Mukhopadhyay, Department of Biology, Cuyahoga Community College, Ohio, USA.
  2. Dr. Vivek Rai, Department of Medicine, New York University Medical Center, USA.
  3. Dr. Dhruv K. Sethi, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute & Harvard Medical School Boston, MA, USA.
  4. Dr. Akash Gulyani, Department of Pharmacology, University of North Carolina, U.S.A.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.