Skip to main content

PhD Programme

PhD Programme

PhD Programme

PhD. Candidates conduct original research towards a PhD. dissertation in any one of the three streams of study offered at the School under the supervision of a guide from within the School’s faculty.


The PhD. Programme is designed to support a student through the process of doing original research that contributes to the chosen discipline. 


Successful MPhil. students of the School may graduate to a PhD. programme. However, the School also invites applications for direct admissions to the PhD. programmes at the School.



Only those candidates will be considered for direct admission who have either:


Obtained an MPhil. Degree from a recognized University/Research Institution with a minimum Grade Point Average of 6.00 on a 10 point scale (candidates who have obtained an MPhil. Degree from a University/Institution where the MPhil. dissertation is not graded or grading is not based on a 10 point scale are required to forward a copy of their MPhil. dissertation along with the application form for the purpose of assessment of their credentials).




Possess demonstrable research experience in recognized Universities/ Research Institutions and/or research publication(s) equivalent to the MPhil. level.


The MPhil. Programmes Admission to the MPhil. is through a separate entrance examination for each stream (i) Visual Studies, (ii) Cinema Studies, and (iii) Theatre and Performance Studies followed by a viva voce. 


A list of recommended readings to prepare for the entrance exam, can be found by clicking here

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.