Skip to main content
Dr. Mukesh Jain
Dr. Mukesh Jain

Dr. Mukesh Jain has been conferred with prestigious Tata Innovation Fellowship for the year 2018-19 by the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, for his significant contributions in the area of Pant Functional and Applied Genomics

Dr. Suneel Kataria
Dr. Suneel Kataria

Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award Dr. Suneel Kataria, Associate Professor, School of Biotechnology (SBT) has been conferred with the prestigious "Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award" (IYBA) 2016 by Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India.

Gobardhan Das
Gobardhan Das

Bergenin, a phyto-chemical produced by Sal, also called 'Tree of Vishnu' exhibit superior efficacy against Tuberculosis (TB) by modulating immune responses. As this compound kills bacteria by boosting immune responses, this compound could be used for treating MDR and XDR tuberculosis and other infections. In an animal model of TB, bergenin reduces 100 folds of tubercular organism. This needs to be tested in human.

Pratima Solanki
Pratima Solanki

Recently Approved Indo-Russian Project (2017-2019): Rapid detection of bacterial resistance to antibiotics based on changing optical properties of nanosized labels. The objective of this project is to develop a kit for detection of antibiotics using optical properties of nanostructure materials.

Gajendra Pratap Singh
Gajendra Pratap Singh

He receives Young Scientist Award-2017 for the contribution and achievement in the field of Petri Nets and Graph Theory in the 3rd Annual Research Meet-ARM 2017 organized by Centre for Advanced Research and Design-CARD of Venus International Foundation



Welcome To be a research university, dedicated to achieve excellence across a broad range of disciplines, to develop knowledge and contribute to the economic growth and social advancement of the nation and ultimately benefit humanity as a whole.


Biotechnology Industry Research Assistance Council - Call for Proposals

Research excellence award and its application form


The German Research Foundation (DFG) Office India is pleased to inform about a Joint Call announced under the bilateral agreement between the Department of Science and Technology and DFG.

The web-link of this announcement by the DST is:

The web-link of this announcement by the DFG is:


Applications are invited for the Innovative PhD Thesis Award (IPTA) 2019 Format and Guidelines


Following candidates have been recommended for Innovative Ph.D Thesis Award (IPTA) 2019


  1. Dr. Suneeta Devi
  2. Dr. Sneha Roy
  3. Dr. Yodendra Kumar




Figure shows the tentative research to be carried out in proposed Indo-Russian Research project. Approved and sanctioned by Department of Biotechnology, New Delhi. INDIAN PI: Dr. Pratima R. Solanki, Special Centre for Nanoscience, Jawaharlal Nehru University, E-mail:; RUSSIAN PI: Prof. Sergei S.Eremin, A., A.N. Bakh Institute of Biochemistry, Research Centre of Biotechnology of Russian Academy of Science Email:





Biotechnology Ignition Grant(BIG) Workshop on 27th January 2017




A seminar on "Utilizing Online Learning in Educational Institutions to

Improve Learning Outcomes" by Dr. Manish Gupta




A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.