Skip to main content

JNU Staff Association

JNU Staff Association

The JNU Staff Association is a recognized association and it was established in 1972. As per its constitution, the office bearers and EC members are elected by the members of JNU Staff Association. Dr B.K. Roy and Shri Jagdish Lal have been the first President and General Secretary of JNU Staff Association in 1972-73. Dr P.C. Kesavan, Shri Bhawani Dutt, Shri P.K. Ghosh, Shri S.K. Madanpotra, Shri Inderaj Singh, Shri Balwant Singh Negi, Shri Amar Singh Rawat, Shri Chiranji Lal, late Shri Bhagat Singh Negi, Shri Devender Tiwari, Shri Gufran Khan, Shri Vijay Kumar, Shri Basant Yadav and Shri Tek Chand have been the Presidents of this Association. Likewise, Dr Kirshan Gopal, Shri J.S. Baweja, Shri Devi Sahai, Shri Prakash Singh Chahar, Shri Victor Voiz, Shri K.N. Joshi, Shri Radhey Shyam Sharma, Dr P.N. Jha, Shri R. S. Bhartwal, Shri Jagdish Vidyarthi, Shri Ajay Kumar and Shri Amar Singh Yadav have been the General Secretaries of this Association. Shri Avais Ahmad, ex Registrar of the University, was also been the President of this Association in 1984.


Elected Office bearers and EC members:

Shri Basant Lal Sharma
General Secretary
Shri Basant Yadav
Shri Hari Babu & Shri Radheshyam Yadav

Joint Secretaries
Shri Vinod Singh & Shri Ram Kumar-II
Shri Azad Singh

JNUSA Voting Result

Office bearers and EC members were declared elected for two years(2010-12): President: Shri R.K. Khurana, Vice-Presidents: Shri Amar Singh Yadav, Shri Santosh Singh, General Secretary: Shri Gufran Khan, Joint Secretaries: Shri Awadh Prasad , Shri Khushal Singh, Executive Council Members: Shri Anand Mani Joshi , Shri Mohd. Hanif, Shri Azad Singh, Shri Krishan Dev, Shri Girdhari Lal, Shri Om Parkash Kataria, Shri Kedar Singh, Shri Phool Chand, Shri Kedar Singh-II, Shri Puran Singh Negi.

In the general elections of JNUSA held on 11.04.2008, the following office bearers and EC members were declared elected for two years (2008-10): President: Pancham Singh Rawat, Vice-Presidents: Shri Raghubir Singh Bisht, Shri Suraj Pal, General Secretary: Dharam Pal, Joint Secretaries: Shri Raj Kumar, Shri Vishnu Kumar Dutta, Treasurer: Shri Tek Chand, Executive Council Members: Shri Bharat Lal, Shri Bhoj Raj, Shri Dil Bahadur, Shri J.P. Maurya, Shri Kiran Singh, Shri Ranbir Singh, Shri Satyawan Singh, Shri Shri Bhagwan, Shri V.K. Sugathan and Shri Yakub Khan.

Shri Pancham Singh Rawat, the former President, has been an employee of the University for the last 35-36 years and presently working as Semi Professional Assistant in the Central Library of the University. Shri Dharam Pal, the General Secretary in present, has been an employee of the University for the last 19-20 years and presently working as Section Officer in the Finance & Accounts Department of the University. Other Office Bearers and EC members of the Association have been working in the University for the last 15-30 years.

          The Office of the Association is located on the ground floor of the School of Computer & System Sciences' building (adjacent to JNU SC/ST Employees Association's office). The telephone number of the Association's office is 26704631 and email address is: It has a mail/suggestion box, fixed in front of the office and a notice board for display of notices, etc. All JNU community, associations of other Universities and academic institutions are welcomed to JNU Staff Association's office. The JNUSA is also affiliated with the national bodies representing the Universities and Colleges like All India Universities Employees Association/Confederation.

          With full cooperation of its staff members, the JNU Staff Association has been working for the welfare of its employees as well as for the University's prosperity and development since its inception. 

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.