Skip to main content

JNU Officers' Association

JNU Officers' Association

JNU Officers' Association
Jawaharlal Nehru University
New Delhi-110067


The JNU Officers' Association is a recognized association of Jawaharlal Nehru University comprising of all Group-A Officers of the University. It was established in the year 1980 with membership of Group-A Officers of various cadres like, Registrar, Librarian, Chief Medical Officer, Medical Officers, Veterinary Officer, Joint Registrars/Deputy Registrars/Deputy Finance Officers, Assistant Registrars/Assistant Finance Officers/Administrative Officers, Deputy Librarians, Assistant Librarians, Deputy Directors & Assistant Director (Archives), Superintending Engineer, Executive & Assistant Engineers, Technical Officers, Sr. System Analyst, System Analysts, Deputy Director & Asst Director (Physical Education), Chief Security Officer, Hindi Officer, Curator, etc...


As per its constitution, the members of the Association elect five Office Bearers, five EC members and two GSCASH members (one male & one female) for the tenure of one year. The main aim and objectives of the Association are to protect the democratic rights and to promote the interest of its members in particular and that of University community in general.


The following Officers are hereby declared, elected unopposed as JNUOA Office Bearers for the year 2023-24:


Sh. Deepak Arya
Dr. Mohammad Faiz Ahmad
General Secretary
Sh Ravi Kant Sinha
Sh. M K Pachauri
Joint Secretary

Dr Somesh Vishwakarma

Executive Committee Members
Sh Rajendra Kumar, Dr Shiva Kanujia Shukla, Sh Sanjay Kumar, Sh B S Rawat, Sh Sumer Singh, Dr. Rakesh Kumar Yadav

* One Special Invitee for the University Executive Council will be nominated from the elected Executive Members


Shri Girja Kumar, Librarian and Shri Moti Ram, Deputy Registrar, were the first President and General Secretary of JNU Officers' Association respectively. After that Shri J.S. Khanna, Registrar, Dr. Jagdish Lal, Shri Jagdish Chander, Dr. Krishan Gopal, Shri JPS Dhaka, Shri KUM Rao, Shri J.S. Baweja, Shri A.C. Alexander, Shri V.C. Tyagi, Shri P.K. Jain, Shri S.K. Mishra, Dr. Surya Prakash Sharma, Shri Jagdish Singh, Shri PS Chahar, Dr. Varsha Sharma, Shri K. Varghese, Shri Manoj Kumar Manuj, Shri. Jagdish Vidyarthi and Shri. Tarun Pant have been the Presidents and General Secretaries of this Association.


The Office of the Association is located near the Railway Reservation Office in JNU. The telephone number of the Association's office is 011-26738736 and email address is: The JNUOA is also affiliated with the national bodies representing the Central Universities/Universities and Colleges like All India Universities Officers' Association/Confederation. All associations of other Universities/academic institutions and JNU community are welcomed to JNU Officers' Association.


With full cooperation of its members, the JNU Officers' Association has been working relentlessly for the welfare of its members as well as for the prosperity and development of the University since its inception.


* Updated on 6th June 2023

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.