Skip to main content
jnufc banner



JNUFC is a social and cultural club. It was formed in the year 1992. The Purpose of having such a club in the campus is to have a platform where the faculty and their family members can interact and participate in myriad and meaningful activities. All round the year JNUFC organizes events, both cultural and sports for faulty, their spouses and children. The Faculty Club was also supposed to fill in one important lacuna, the non-existence of a non-political campus organization where involvement of the faculty and their family members could be restricted to pure entertainment. Presently, "club" activity in the capital is beyond the purse of most faculty members.


JNUFC gives an opportunity to hone one's skills, bring out talent, and facilitate in active and coordinated cultural and sporting events. JNUFC also plays an important role in enhancing and strengthening the associations with the neighboring institutions around the campus by having friendly matches. There is a great enthusiasm and tremendous response from the faculty and especially from children to actively participate in sports and cultural programmes. All the faculty members are invited for their active participation and valuable suggestions.


Office Bearers

(January 2019 to January 2021)


  Dr. Sudesh Yadav 
  Email: ,
  Phone: 26704197, 9968077736

  Dr. Khurshid Immam
  Vice President 
  Email: ,
  Phone: 26704256, 09810786638

  Dr. Manuradha Chaudhary
  Vice President 
  Email: ,
  Phone: 26704221

  Dr. Ramovatar Meena
  General Secretary
  Email: ,
  Phone: 26704309

  Dr. Sandesha Rayappa

  Joint Secretary
  Email: ,
  Phone : 26704132, 9811162299

  Dr. Anuja
  Joint Secretary

  Dr. Md. Ajmal
  Email: ,
  Phone: 26708776 , 91-9818483985


The new JNU FC EC will hold office for 2 years.

Please contact:

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.