Skip to main content



Jawaharlal Nehru University Disabled Persons’ Association (JNUDPA) is an association and organization which came into existence with the toiling efforts of disabled better to say differently-abled community of JNU and its sympathizers in the year 1999 to struggle for the general awareness related to the rights of physically handicapped community. The community super-ordinately includes physically challenged (PC/PH), sub-ordinately orthopedically challenged (OC/OH), visually challenged (VC/VH) and hearing challenged (HC/HH). It is solely devoted to the whole challenged community of JNU with membership of teaching (JNU faculties), non-teaching (JNU staff) and JNU students. It is completely a non-political organization without any political inclinations, political affiliations and biasness to any political party of either JNU or outside. It is a platform where all challenged JNUites come together brushing aside their individuality for the betterment of their socio-economic, educational and cultural life.


In 1994, the parliament passed the bill of 3% reservation for physically challenged in governmental educational institutions. But ironically till the year 1999, the JNU administration did not take any initiative for the proper implementation of 3% reservation in this campus either in teaching, non-teaching jobs or in admission. It was in this context, JNUDPA came into being by some of our predecessors among students and staffs who exhibited indomitable will power and never-say-die spirit to found JNUDPA. It was the 15th March 1999 when a congregation of conscious JNUites held a meeting in JNU and thus JNUDPA came into existence, which unanimously elected Dr. R.R. Jha (Ph.D, SIS), as the first President and Sh. L. Kanniappan (Assist. Librarian) as the first Gen. Secretary for the consecutive five years.


The General Body meeting of the JNU Disabled Persons Association held on the 25th of September, 2012 on Room 046, School of Languages, JNU at 1.30 P.M.and the following are the names of the office bearers and members of Executive Council nominated for the period of 2012 to 2014.  The new Office Bearers are as under:

Shri Nand Kishore
JNU, New Delhi
Shri Jagdish Rajpurohit
JNU, New Delhi
Dr. S. Maitra
Associate Professor, 
Shri Hoshiar Singh 
JNU, New Delhi
Shri Shankar Lal Seemawat
JNU, New Delhi

Executive Committee

  1. Shri Akshaansh Gupta
  2. Shri Darshan Lal
  3. Ms Uma
  4. Shri Sanjiv Mallik
  5. Shri Rajesh Kumar
  6. Shri Shambhu Nath Sarkar


Advisory Committee

  1. Shri L. Kanniappan
  2. Shri Pintu Kumar
  3. Shri Gopal Parihar


The copies of this resolution have been sent to the all concern authorities of JNU. This file also attached to our group's website.


We will unite and we will win.

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.