Skip to main content

CITD PhD Students

CITD PhD Students

Current Ph.D. Scholars at the Centre




Area of Research

Charu Grover 

Prof. Sangeeta Bansal

Environment Economics: Eco-Labeling;  Information Economics

Deepika Srivastava

Prof. Manoj Pant

Trade, FDI and Productivity linkages


Prof. Meeta K. Mehra

Political Economy, Environmental Economics, Trade and Economics

Saheli Das

Prof. Meeta K. Mehra


Gaurav Bhattacharya

Prof. Meeta Mehra

New Political Economy of Trade and Environmental Policy

Malvika Mahesh

Dr. Rashmi Barua

Development economics and trade

Prarthna Agarwal

Dr. Rashmi Barua

Applied Microeconomics, Economic Development, Crime and Gender.

Priti Agarwal

Prof. Aparna Sawhney

Sustainability of India's Growth: An Empirical Analysis

Shilpy Verma

Prof. Meeta K. Mehra

Poverty-Environment Nexus

Yashobanta Parida

Dr. Rashmi Barua

Effect of Natural Disasters on Economic Development: Evidence from Indian States

Sugandha Huria

Prof. Manoj Pant International Economics

Aishwarya Harichandan

Dr. Brishti Guha Game Theory and Behavioral Economics

Shivani Gupta

Prof. Sangeeta Bansal Health Economics

Parul Jain

Prof. Sangeeta Bansal Environmental and Health Economics

Komal Biswal

Prof. Aparna Sawhney International trade and Environment; Renewable Energy

Sk Md Azharuddin

Prof. Meeta K. Mehra Business Cycle Fluctuations in a DSGE Framework

Resham Nagpal

Prof. Sushama Murty Microeconomics, Environmental externalities

Nikita Jain

Dr. Brishti Guha Game Theory and Law and Economics
Khushboo Aggarwal Dr. Rashmi Barua

Health and Development

Shikha Singh
Dr. Mandira Sarma Financial Economics

Poluami Ghosh

Dr. Brishti Guha Applied Microeconomic theory,Contract theory, Game theory.

Priyanka Yadav

Prof. Amit S. Ray Health Economics, Development 

Shreya Malhotra

Dr. Brishti Guha
Behavioural Economics, Family Law and Violence
Vanida Pimkord Dr. Mandira Sarma SMEs credit constraints 
Vinay Kumar Yadav Dr. Mandira Sarma Banking and Finance
Yashaswini Saraswat
Prof. Sangeeta Bansal
Environmental Economics

Piyush Swain

Prof. Amit S. Ray and Dr. Rashmi  Barua  The role of geography, history and institutions in India's economic development 

Shruit Joshi

Dr. Rashmi  Barua Gender Economics

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.