Skip to main content

SES Faculties

SES Faculties

Number of Faculty: 22
A.P.  Dimri
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
apdimri@mail.jnu.ac.in apdimri@hotmail.com
AL.  Ramanathan
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
alr0400@mail.jnu.ac.in , alrjnu@gmail.com
Dinesh  Mohan
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
dmohan@mail.jnu.ac.in , dm_1967@hotmail.com
Jayant Kumar Tripathi
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
jktripathi@mail.jnu.ac.in , jktrip@yahoo.com
K.G.  Saxena
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
kgsaxena@mail.jnu.ac.in kgsaxena@gmail.com
Kasturi Mukhopadhyay
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
kasturim@mail.jnu.ac.in , kasturi26@hotmail.com
Krishan Kumar
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
krishan_kumar@mail.jnu.ac.in
N. Janardhana  Raju
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
rajunj@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajunj7@gmail.com
P K Joshi
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
pkjoshi@mail.jnu.ac.in pkjoshi27@hotmail.com
Paulraj Rajamani
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
paulrajr@mail.jnu.ac.in
S.  Mukherjee
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
saumitra@mail.jnu.ac.in
Satish Chandra Garkoti
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
scgarkoti@mail.jnu.ac.in , sgarkoti@yahoo.com
Umesh  Kulshrestha
Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
umesh@mail.jnu.ac.in ; umeshkulshrestha@gmail.com
Ilora Ghosh (Mondal)
Associate Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
ighosh@mail.jnu.ac.in , iloraghosh17@gmail.com
Sudesh  Yadav
Associate Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
syadav@mail.jnu.ac.in , sudesh27@hotmail.com
Usha Mina
Associate Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
ushamina@mail.jnu.ac.in , praush2@gmail.com
Amit Kumar Mishra
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
amitmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in , amit.mishra.jnu@gmail.com
Arun Kumar  Srivastava
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
a_srivastava@mail.jnu.ac.in , srivastava02@hotmail.com
Ashwani Kumar Tiwari
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
ashwaniktiwari@mail.jnu.ac.in, ashwani.enviro@gmail.com
Meenakshi  Dua
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
meenakshi72@hotmail.com, mdua@mail.jnu.ac.in
Ram Pravesh Kumar
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
rpkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in, praveshjnu@gmail.com
Ramovatar Meena
Assistant Professor
School of Environmental Sciences
ramovatarmeena@mail.jnu.ac.in, rammeenarv@gmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.