Skip to main content

Students : M.Sc.

Students : M.Sc.



1 Kaushal Grover


Marie Kaushalya Narayana Mudalige



Ajit Kumar


Animesh Banerjee


Mrittika Adhikary


Richa Raj


Sakshi Yadu


Samiksha Rana


Tanya Tripathi




Vanshika Srivastava


Ejaj Ali


Abhishek Kumar

Amit Kumar

Bazahat Ali

Chandra Shakhar 

Chandrima Barua

Divyanshi Verma

Gaurav Sharma

Jay Prakash Kumar

Jean-Pierre Gnimatin



Pratiksha Gayan

Rajesh Malik

Ranjini Ghosh Dastidar

Shivangi Verma

Shivani Devi

Utkarsh Upadhyay

Vanshika Saini

Palia Dushyant Suresh
Paridhi Saxena
Lusinmi Basumatary
Chinmaya Sahoo
Sourav Goswami
Alok Anand
Juhi Jain
Ram Pravesh Yadav
Himani Chand
Swagatika Senapati
Keshaw Kumar
Shailendra Singh Niboriya
Rohit Kumar
Ashik babu P
Kavana Priyadarshini K
Manas Pratiti
Akshay Dinesh
Preksha Sethia
Ch Taliangbou
Kumud Bhardwaj
Subhankar Sarkar

Mr.Adarsh Mishra

Mr.Aman Soni

Ms.Pooja Meena

Mr.Mohit Rawat

Ms.Ashruti Rani

Ms.Arpita Singh


Mr.Shubham Sharma


Mr.Nabendra Dhara

Mr.Mohit Redhal

Abhishek Singh Email :

Kuldeep Maurya Email :

Pushkar Kumar Email :

Rahul Deo Email :

Shivam Prajapati Email :

Shivani Choudhary Email :

Susheel Kumar Sah Email :

Vikas Kumar Email :

Guddu Kumar Chaudhary Email :

Deepender Email :

Dhara Awasthi Email :

Albert Bansala Email :

Ankit Yadav Email :

Surabhi Singh Email :

Shashank Email :

Kumar Keshaw Email :

Krishan Kumar Meena 
Email :

Varun Aggarwal 
Email :

Joshua Baskaran 
Email :

Kaushal Kumar 
Email :

Anuj Kumar Sirohi 
Email :

Nancy Rohilla 
Email :

Sayani Hossain 
Email :

Sujeet Kumar Mishra 
Email :

Jyoti Verma 
Email :

Trishala das 
Email :

Harbinder kaur 
Email :

Shalini Sharma 
Email :

Arfa Jabin 
Email :

Vigil Bhawar 
Email :

Ajeet Kumar Yadav 
Email :

Email :

Gopal Kumar 
Email :

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.