Skip to main content

IIC Team

IIC Team

Nominated Members of IIC JNU
    • Prof Rana Pratap Singh- President
    • Prof B R Panda- Vice President
    • Dr Anamika Gulati- Convenor
    • Innovation Activity Coordinator- Dr Gaurav Tyagi
    • Start up-activity Coordinator- Dr Hemant R Kushwaha
    • Internship Coordinator- Dr Varun Saxena
    • IPR Activity Coordinator- Prof Unnat Pandit
    • Social Media Coordinator- Dr Anshu Joshi
    • ARIIA Coordinator- Dr Hemant R Kushwaha
    • NIRF Coordinator- Prof Ajay Dubey



Industry Members

Dr Vishal Gandhi
BioRx Venture Pvt Ltd
Dr Gagan Deep
V Proteomics Pvt Ltd
Dr Anupama Singh
Sequoia Insilico Pvt Ltd
Dr Dheeraj Singh
GRC Foundation Pvt Ltd



JNU Faculty Coordinator

JNU Faculty  Co-ordinator
Dr Syamala Maitreyi Rajala
School of Biotechnology
Dr Gajendra Pratap Singh
School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
Dr Piyush Pratap Singh
School of Computer and Sytem Sciences
Dr Varun Saxena
School of Engineering
Dr Amit Kumar Mishra
Dr Preeti D Das
Dr Anshu Joshi
Dr Rashmini Koparkar
School of International Studies
Dr Sandeep Kumar Pandey
Dr Yogesh Kumar Rai
School of Language Literature and Culture Studies
Dr Abhisheka Bansal
School of Life Sciences
Dr Lokesh Jindal
Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
Prof Ram Sagar Misra
Prof Pawan Kulriya
Prof Manish Kumar
School of Physical Sciences
Dr Vijender Singh
School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
Dr Reeta Sony AL
Dr Veragoni Shirisha
School of Social Sciences
Dr G. Amarjit Sharma
Special Centre for study of North East Indian
Dr Nikunj Makwana
Special Centre for Disaster Research
Prof Umesh Chand Singh Yadav
Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
Dr Vinod Kumar
Special centre for Nanosciences
Dr Gaurav Tyagi
Special Centre for National Security Studies



Innovation Ambassadors
    • Dr Hemant R Kushwaha
    • Dr Anamika Gulati
    • Dr Gaurav Tyagi



Student Coordinators

School of Biotechnology
School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
Ms. Ranjini Ghosh Dastidar, Ms. Chandrima,  Mr. Gaurav
School of Computer and System Sciences
Ms. Nitya Pandey, Ms. Pooja sIngh, Mr. Sanjeev Patel, Mr. Govind Soni,
Ms. Akanksha Singh, Ms. Meghna Juyal, Ms. Riya Goel
School of Engineering
Mr. Shubham Singh, Mr. Shubham Choudhary,  Mr. Hritik singla, Mr. Amanullah Asad
School of Environmental Sciences
Mr. Swastik Behera, Mr. Chetan Singh, Ms. Ankita Singh
School of International Studies
Ms. Sheetal Arya, Ms. Rupal Mishra
School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies
Mr. Abhijeet, Mr.  Abhishek Ranjan
School of Life Sciences
Mr. Nilesh Makwana,Ms.  Kanishka, Ms. Nupur Kanojia, Mr. Mohit Rajput
Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Enterpreneurship
Ms. Kamna, Mr. Parveen
School of Physical Sciences
Mr. Virendra Kumar, Mr. Siddharth Kumar
School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
Mr. Subhash Vishnoi
School of Social Sciences
Ms. Valentina Brahma, Ms. Sonia Malik
Special Center for the Study of North East India
Special Center for Disaster Research
Mr. Rohit Kumar, Ms. Natasha Sharma, Mr. Mukul Khatri
Special Center for Molecular Medicine
Ms. Palak Parashar
Special Center for Nano Studies
Ms. Nidhi
Special Center for National Security Studies

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.