Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z

Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 64
  • R.K. Agrawal
    R.K. Agrawal
    Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    rka@mail.jnu.ac.in , rkajnu@gmail.com
  • R.  Mahalakshmi
    R. Mahalakshmi
    Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    rmahalakshmi@mail.jnu.ac.in , mahaarakesh@gmail.com
  • R.  Thamotharan
    R. Thamotharan
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    thamotharan@mail.jnu.ac.in , aravendan66@gmail.com
  • R.P.  Singh
    R.P. Singh
    Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,
    rpsingh@mail.jnu.ac.in , rpsinghjnu@yahoo.com
  • Rajeev  Kumar
    Rajeev Kumar
    Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    rkumarcs@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajeevkumar.cse@gmail.com
  • Rajeev Sijariya
    Rajeev Sijariya
    Professor
    Atal Bihari Vajpayee School of Management and Entrepreneurship
    rajeevsijariya@mail.jnu.ac.in, rajeevsijariya@gmail.com
  • Rajesh  Rajagopalan
    Rajesh Rajagopalan
    Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    r_rajesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajesh622@yahoo.com
  • Rajib  Dasgupta
    Rajib Dasgupta
    Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    rdasgupta@mail.jnu.ac.in , dasgupta.jnu@gmail.com
  • Rajiv  Bhat
    Rajiv Bhat
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    rajivbhat@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajivbhat@hotmail.com
  • Rajiv Saxena
    Rajiv Saxena
    Professor
    Centre of Spanish, Portuguese, Italian & Latin American Studies,
    rsaxena@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rajnish Kumar  Mishra
    Rajnish Kumar Mishra
    Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    rkmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in , mishrarajnish@gmail.com
  • Rakesh K.  Tyagi
    Rakesh K. Tyagi
    Professor
    Special Centre for Molecular Medicine
    rkt2300@mail.jnu.ac.in , rktyagi@yahoo.com
  • Ram  Chandra
    Ram Chandra
    Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    ramchandra@mail.jnu.ac.in , ramchandra.jnu@gmail.com
  • Ram Nath  Jha
    Ram Nath Jha
    Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies
    rnjha@mail.jnu.ac.in , rnj12@hotmail.com
  • Ram Sagar
    Ram Sagar
    Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    ram.sagar@mail.jnu.ac.in, ramsagar1.jnu@gmail.com
  • Rama V.  Baru
    Rama V. Baru
    Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    ramabaru@mail.jnu.ac.in , rama.v.baru@gmail.com
  • Ramila  Bisht
    Ramila Bisht
    Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    ramila@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rana P.  Singh
    Rana P. Singh
    Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    rana_singh@mail.jnu.ac.in & ranaps@hotmail.com
  • Ranjana  Banerjee
    Ranjana Banerjee
    Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    ranjanab@mail.jnu.ac.in , ranjanab1992@gmail.com
  • Ranjani  Mazumdar
    Ranjani Mazumdar
    Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics
    ranjani@mail.jnu.ac.in , ranjani.mazumdar@gmail.com
  • Ravikesh
    Ravikesh
    Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies
    ravikesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , ravikesh@gmail.com
  • Riddhi  Shah
    Riddhi Shah
    Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    rshah@jnu.ac.in, rshah@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Ritu Priya  Mehrotra
    Ritu Priya Mehrotra
    Professor
    Centre of Social Medicine and Community Health,
    ritupriya@mail.jnu.ac.in , ritu_priya_jnu@yahoo.com
  • Rizwanur  Rahman
    Rizwanur Rahman
    Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,
    rrahman@mail.jnu.ac.in , rrahmanjnu@gmail.com
  • Ruchir Gupta
    Ruchir Gupta
    Professor
    School of Engineering
    ruchirgupta@mail.jnu.ac.in ruchir.in@gmail.com
  • Rupesh  Chaturvedi
    Rupesh Chaturvedi
    Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    rupesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , rupesh.chaturvedi.jnu@gmail.com
  • Ram Krishna Ghosh
    Ram Krishna Ghosh
    DST INSPIRE Faculty
    Special Centre for Nanoscience
    rkghosh@mail.jnu.ac.in, ramki.phys@gmail.com
  • R.K. Brojen  Singh
    R.K. Brojen Singh
    Associate Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
    brojen@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rajan  Kumar
    Rajan Kumar
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    rajan@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rajesh  Mishra
    Rajesh Mishra
    Associate Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    rajeshmishra@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rajesh Kumar  Paswan
    Rajesh Kumar Paswan
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    rk_paswan@mail.jnu.ac.in , paswan_rajesh@yahoo.co.in
  • Rakesh  Batabyal
    Rakesh Batabyal
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Media Studies,
    batabyal@mail.jnu.ac.in , rakeshbatabyal@gmail.com
  • Rakhee Bhattacharjee
    Rakhee Bhattacharjee
    Associate Professor
    Special Centre for the Study of North East India
    rakhee@mail.jnu.ac.in , rakhee_2k@hotmail.com
  • Ram Prasad Prajapati
    Ram Prasad Prajapati
    Associate Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    rpprajapati@mail.jnu.ac.in, prajapati.iter@gmail.com
  • Raman P.  Sinha
    Raman P. Sinha
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Indian Languages
    rpsinha@mail.jnu.ac.in , ramanpsinha@gmail.com
  • Ranjeeta  Dutta
    Ranjeeta Dutta
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Historical Studies,
    ranjeetadutta@mail.jnu.ac.in , ranjeeta.dutta@gmail.com
  • Ranvijay
    Ranvijay
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Politics, Organisation & Disarmament,
    ranvijay@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Raviprasad  Narayanan
    Raviprasad Narayanan
    Associate Professor
    Centre for East Asian Studies,
    raviprasad.narayanan@gmail.com
  • Richa  Sawant
    Richa Sawant
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    richa_sawant@mail.jnu.ac.in , richasawant07@gmail.com
  • Ritu  Agarwal
    Ritu Agarwal
    Associate Professor
    Centre for East Asian Studies,
    rituagarwal@mail.jnu.ac.in , ritu10agarwal@gmail.com
  • Rohini  Muthuswami
    Rohini Muthuswami
    Associate Professor
    School of Life Sciences
    rohini_m@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rosy  Singh
    Rosy Singh
    Associate Professor
    Centre of German Studies,
    rosysingh@mail.jnu.ac.in , singh.rosy@gmail.com
  • Ravi  Tandon
    Ravi Tandon
    Assistant Professor (UGC)
    School of Biotechnology
    ravitandon@jnu.ac.in
  • Rabindra Nath  Mahato
    Rabindra Nath Mahato
    Assistant Professor
    School of Physical Sciences
    rnmahato@jnu.ac.in , rabindraiitm@gmail.com
  • Radha Mohan Meena
    Radha Mohan Meena
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies,
    radhamohan@mail.jnu.ac.in ; mohan1385@gmail.com
  • Rahul Raj
    Rahul Raj
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies
    rahulraj@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Raj  Yadav
    Raj Yadav
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    rajyadav@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajyadavjnu@gmail.com
  • Rajarshi  Dasgupta
    Rajarshi Dasgupta
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    rajarshi@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajarshibabu@gmail.com
  • Rajbeer  Singh
    Rajbeer Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Studies in Science Policy,
    rajbeer@mail.jnu.ac.in , rajbasera@gmail.com
  • Rajendra Prasad  Kundu
    Rajendra Prasad Kundu
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    rpkundu@mail.jnu.ac.in rajendra.kundu@gmail.com
  • Rakesh  Kumar
    Rakesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
    rakeshkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in , rakesh3670@gmail.com
  • Ram Pravesh Kumar
    Ram Pravesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    rpkumar@mail.jnu.ac.in, praveshjnu@gmail.com
  • Ramovatar  Meena
    Ramovatar Meena
    Assistant Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences
    ramovatarmeena@mail.jnu.ac.in, rammeenarv@gmail.com
  • Ranjana  Arya
    Ranjana Arya
    Assistant Professor
    School of Biotechnology
    ranjanaa@mail.jnu.ac.in , arya.ranjana24@gmail.com
  • Rashmi  Barua
    Rashmi Barua
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for International Trade & Development
    barua.bhowmik@gmail.com
  • Rashmini Anil Koparkar
    Rashmini Anil Koparkar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    rashmini@mail.jnu.ac.in, rashmini.koparkar@gmail.com
  • Ratheesh Kumar
    Ratheesh Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Systems,
    ratheesh@mail.jnu.ac.in , rpkratheesh@gmail.com
  • Ratneshwer
    Ratneshwer
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
    ratnesh@mail.jnu.ac.in ; ratneshwer@gmail.com
  • Reeta Sony A.L.
    Reeta Sony A.L.
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Studies in Science Policy,
    reetasony@mail.jnu.ac.in ; aalsony@gmail.com
  • Renu Sain
    Renu Sain
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies,
    renusain@mail.jnu.ac.in , renujnu@gmail.com
  • Rinku  Lamba
    Rinku Lamba
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Political Studies,
    rlamba@mail.jnu.ac.in , lambarinku@gmail.com
  • Rohit
    Rohit
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,
    rohit@jnu.ac.in
  • Rosina Nasir
    Rosina Nasir
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for the Study of Social Exclusion and Inclusive Policy,
    rnasir@mail.jnu.ac.in
  • Rupa  Singh
    Rupa Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Japanese Studies,
    rupapopli@mail.jnu.ac.in , rupapopli@hotmail.com

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.