Skip to main content

Faculty Directory

Faculty Directory :

| A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | Y | Z


Faculty Directory

Number of Faculty : 33
  • K. Natarajan
    K. Natarajan
    School of Life Sciences
  • K.Vijayalakshmi Rao
    K.Vijayalakshmi Rao
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
  • Kashyap Kumar Dubey
    Kashyap Kumar Dubey
    School of Biotechnology
  • Kasturi Mukhopadhyay
    Kasturi Mukhopadhyay
    School of Environmental Sciences ,
  • Kaushal Kumar Sharma
    Kaushal Kumar Sharma
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,
  • Kedar Singh
    Kedar Singh
    School of Physical Sciences ,
  • Kharat Rajesh Shrikrishna
    Kharat Rajesh Shrikrishna
    Centre for South Asian Studies
  • Khwaja Md. Ekramuddin
    Khwaja Md. Ekramuddin
    Centre of Indian Languages ,
  • Komol Singha
    Komol Singha
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,,
  • Krishan Kumar
    Krishan Kumar
    School of Environmental Sciences
  • Krishnendra Meena
    Krishnendra Meena
    Centre for the Study of Regional Development,,
  • Krishnendu Ghosh Dastidar
    Krishnendu Ghosh Dastidar
    Centre for Economic Studies and Planning,,,
  • K.B. Usha
    K.B. Usha
    Associate Professor
    Centre for Russian and Central Asian Studies, ,
  • Kailash Jeenger
    Kailash Jeenger
    Associate Professor
    Centre for International Legal Studies,
  • Kaushik Bhaumik
    Kaushik Bhaumik
    Associate Professor
    School of Arts & Aesthetics ,
  • Kiran Singh Verma
    Kiran Singh Verma
    Associate Professor
    Centre of Russian Studies, ,
  • Krishna Mohan Pandey
    Krishna Mohan Pandey
    Associate Professor
    School of Sanskrit and Indic Studies,
  • Kumar Pranaw
    Kumar Pranaw
    Associate Professor
    School of Environmental Sciences;
  • Kunwer Singh Mathur
    Kunwer Singh Mathur
    Associate Professor
    School of Computational and Integrative Sciences
  • Krishnan Rajkumar
    Krishnan Rajkumar
    Assistant Professor (UGC)
    School of Engineering
  • K. Pugazhendhi
    K. Pugazhendhi
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for French and Francophone Studies,
  • Kali Chittibabu
    Kali Chittibabu
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Informal Sector & Labour Studies,
  • Karan Singh
    Karan Singh
    Assistant Professor
    School of Computer & Systems Sciences
  • Karunakar  Kar
    Karunakar Kar
    Assistant Professor
    School of Life Sciences
  • Kaushal Kishore Chandel
    Kaushal Kishore Chandel
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Chinese and South East Asian Studies,
  • Kaushal Kumar
    Kaushal Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Korean Studies,
  • Kavita Arora
    Kavita Arora
    Assistant Professor
    Advanced Instrumentation Research Facility;
  • Kethavath Kranthi Kumar
    Kethavath Kranthi Kumar
    Assistant Professor
    School of Engineering,
  • Khangembam Romesh Singh
    Khangembam Romesh Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Philosophy,,
  • Khuraijam Bijoykumar Singh
    Khuraijam Bijoykumar Singh
    Assistant Professor
    Special Centre for the Study of North East India,
  • Khurshid Imam
    Khurshid Imam
    Assistant Professor
    Centre of Arabic and African studies,,
  • Kishore Vadthya
    Kishore Vadthya
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Linguistics,
  • Krishna Murthy
    Krishna Murthy
    Assistant Professor
    Centre for Media Studies

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.