Skip to main content




Currently AIRF houses the following major instruments/ Facilities:

  1. Transmission Electron Microscope (TEM) - JEOL 2100F
  2. Scanning Electron Microscope (SEM) - Zeiss EVO40
  3. Gas Chromatograph Mass Spectrometer (GCMS) - Shimadzu QP-2010 Plus with Thermal Desorption System TD 20 
  4. Laser Confocal Microscope with Fluorescence Correlation Spectroscopy (FCS) - Olympus FluoView™ FV1000 with FLIP, FRAP, FRET, FLIM and FCS (PicoQuant)
  5. Time Resolved Fluorescence Spectrometer (TRFS) - Edinburgh FL920 Fluorescence Life Time Spectrometer
  6. Flow Cytometer and Cell Sorter - Dako (now Beckman Coulter) MoFlo™ Cytomation  (Modular Flow Cytometer)
  7. Circular Dichroism (CD) Spectrometer with Stop Flow - Applied PhotoPhysics Chirascan 
  8. FT-IR/ Raman Spectrometer with Microscope - Varian 7000 FTIR, Varian FT-Raman and Varian 600 UMA
  9. Wavelength Dispersive X-ray Fluorescence (WDXRF) Spectrometer - Bruker S4 PIONEER
  10. Energy Dispersive X-ray Fluorescence (EDXRF) Spectrometer - PANalytical Epsilon 5
  11. X-ray Diffraction (XRD) System for Powder/ Thin Films with low temperature attachment - PANalytical X'pert PRO 
  12. X-ray Diffractometer (XRD) for Macromolecules & Protein Crystallography - Bruker AXS MicrostarTM
  13. Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR) Spectrometer and Potentiostat Galvanostat - Autolab ESPRIT 
  14. Capillary Electrophoresis System - Agilent 3D
  15. Liquid Nitrogen Plant - Stirling StirLIN-1 Compact
  16. 500 MHz Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) Spectrometer with solid state attachment (CP-MAS) - Bruker Avance III
  17. Mass Spectrometry Laboratory
    1. LCMS - Waters SYNAPT G2 with 2D nano ACQUITY System 
    2. MALDI MS - ABI Sciex 5800 TOF/ TOF System with LC-MALDI
  18. Live Imaging Laboratory:
    1. Nikon Real Time Laser Scanning Confocal Microscope Model A1R with motorized inverted microscope having Live Cell and Spectral Imaging – Model Ti-E
    2. Nikon Fully Motorized Laser Total Internal Reflection Fluorescence (TIRF) Microscope – Model Ti-E
    3. Nikon Integrated Live Cell Imaging Set-up – Model Biostation IM-Q
    4. Nikon Trinocular Research Microscope (anti-fungus type) for bright field, phase contrast, DIC, polarizing and digital camera attachment – Model 80i
  19. Physical Property Measurement System (PPMS): 
    1. Closed Cycle based Cryogen free system – Cryogenics Limited, USA
  20. Femtosecond Laser Laboratory: Femtosecond Laser Source (MaiTaiHP, Spectra Physics) with Fluorescence Up-conversion Spectrometer (FOG100-DX, CDP); Jointly funded by JNU & DST (funds given to School of Physical Sciences)
  21. Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) Spectrometer Bruker Model EMX MicroX
  22. FESEM with FIB and EBL Tescan Model LYRA 3 XMU ( to be announced soon..)

Supporting basic instruments/ Facilities at AIRF:

  1. XRD Protein Crystallization Laboratory -  Mosquito (TTP Labtech) &  MICROLAB STARLET (Hamilton Robotics)
  2. TEM & SEM Sample Preparation Laboratory - Leica EM UC 6 Ultramicrotome & Nikon Trinocular Microscope (anti fungus type) with digital camera system – Model E200
  3. Inverted Research Fluorescence Microscope - OLYMPUS IX71
  4. Two Sample Preparation Laboratories with some Basic Facilties
  5. Manual Hydraulic Press for FTIR - Spectrachrom Instruments CAP-15T
  6. Semi Automatic 40Ton Hydraulic Press for XRF sample preparation - Insmart Systems INSMART XRF 40
  7. Muffle Furnace (1400 0C working temperature; size: 200x200x300 mm) - International Scientific Instruments Co.
  8. Mixed Signal Oscilloscope 2 + 16 CH 350 MHZ - Agilent Technologies Ltd MS07032A
  9. Critical point Dryer - Quorum Technologies K850X
  10. Turbo Freeze Dryer with liquid nitrogen fed cold stage - Quorum Technologies K775X

A warm welcome to the modified and updated website of the Centre for East Asian Studies. The East Asian region has been at the forefront of several path-breaking changes since 1970s beginning with the redefining the development architecture with its State-led development model besides emerging as a major region in the global politics and a key hub of the sophisticated technologies. The Centre is one of the thirteen Centres of the School of International Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi that provides a holistic understanding of the region.

Initially, established as a Centre for Chinese and Japanese Studies, it subsequently grew to include Korean Studies as well. At present there are eight faculty members in the Centre. Several distinguished faculty who have now retired include the late Prof. Gargi Dutt, Prof. P.A.N. Murthy, Prof. G.P. Deshpande, Dr. Nranarayan Das, Prof. R.R. Krishnan and Prof. K.V. Kesavan. Besides, Dr. Madhu Bhalla served at the Centre in Chinese Studies Programme during 1994-2006. In addition, Ms. Kamlesh Jain and Dr. M. M. Kunju served the Centre as the Documentation Officers in Chinese and Japanese Studies respectively.

The academic curriculum covers both modern and contemporary facets of East Asia as each scholar specializes in an area of his/her interest in the region. The integrated course involves two semesters of classes at the M. Phil programme and a dissertation for the M. Phil and a thesis for Ph. D programme respectively. The central objective is to impart an interdisciplinary knowledge and understanding of history, foreign policy, government and politics, society and culture and political economy of the respective areas. Students can explore new and emerging themes such as East Asian regionalism, the evolving East Asian Community, the rise of China, resurgence of Japan and the prospects for reunification of the Korean peninsula. Additionally, the Centre lays great emphasis on the building of language skills. The background of scholars includes mostly from the social science disciplines; History, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, International Relations and language.

Several students of the centre have been recipients of prestigious research fellowships awarded by Japan Foundation, Mombusho (Ministry of Education, Government of Japan), Saburo Okita Memorial Fellowship, Nippon Foundation, Korea Foundation, Nehru Memorial Fellowship, and Fellowship from the Chinese and Taiwanese Governments. Besides, students from Japan receive fellowship from the Indian Council of Cultural Relations.